Where did they go?

tiger_rick

• Paid Members

Chatting to our kid earlier about the concept of there being no life outside WWE and it got me thinking about when I knew Hogan and Savage were in WCW. I don't think I knew until I started playing WCW vs. nWo on the N64 in 1997. Didn't have Sky, didn’t have the Internet yet, didn’t have any friends who watched WCW. Two of the biggest stars in history just completely disappeared for me.

I was so on board with the whole New Generation shite, I didn’t particularly think about it much. My brothers and I started collecting WWF tapes religiously around late 96 due to a second hand music and video place opening and my student grant being disposable cash and we bought loads of shows and tapes we'd not seen and I still don't recall us speculating where they'd gone. They were just dead to us.

Anyone in a similar boat? With them or others like Hall and Nash. We wete so far behind on WWF shows by 1996, we didn't really know they'd gone.

• Paid Members

I’m exactly the same as you @tiger_rick, a friend of mine rented NWO vs The World on N64 (remember when you could rent games?) and I asked what happened to Hulk Hogan because now he’s all black and white and called Hollywood. I had no idea what had happened with him after KOTR 1993. I stopped watching in 1996 so it was this and revenge that started to get me interested again so had no idea about the NWO, the Montreal screwjob, Kane etc. I started reading news sites around 99 but it wasn’t really until Heat started on Channel 4 in 2000 that I started properly watching again.

I had a handful of wrestling VHS' when I was like 4 or 5. From Royal Rumble 92, WrestleMania 8, SummerSlam 92 to Royal Rumble 93 and WrestleMania 9, with a Halloween Havoc 92 randomly thrown in, so I was at least aware of WCW's existence.