Sign in to follow this  
Steve Justice

The Tech Thread

I couldn't find an appropriate thread to ask or post about all things tech, so thought I'd start one. Point me in the right direction if such a thing already exists.

If not, then if you've got a general tech question or want to post/share something cool that is tech related, here be the place to do that.

My question though:

I'm wanting to connect my laptop up to my amp via optical cable, apropos achieving surround sound. My amp does not have a HDMI port so that's not an alternative option. I have limited knowledge on upgrading laptops, other than hard drives and ram, so I have no idea if the sound card can be changed. I have seen though that external sound cards are an option, but I'm seeing mixed reviews. Has anyone used these before? Do they work? Do they sound good? Any particular model you can recommend?

2 hours ago, Steve Justice said:

apropos achieving surround sound

Arrows.

Can somebody explain what's going on with Huawei? I've not followed what's going on at all. All I know is there's some problem between the US and China over it and it may stop Huawei being able to work with Google? 

I ask as I have a Huawei phone and I prefer it over any Apple/Samsung/Google phone I've had. 

If Huawei can no longer work with Google from China then they're essentially going to be useless without Android, right?

Ta. 

@Undefeated Steak Huawei produce a lot of hardware used in wireless infrastructure. Included in that are integral components of our own 5G network, as well as in other countries. As there is common belief that given China’s government breathe heavily on some of their biggest firms, there’s reasonable concern that by including Huawei hardware in a country’s mobile infrastructure, it massively puts national security at risk as basically, the Chinese government aren’t trusted.