Film-making

Chris B

• Paid Members

I remember someone else doing some film-making in here, but couldn't find it via search. I figure I'm not the only one who's started making films anyway - anyone else? I started about two years ago, and have been mainly taking part in short-film timed challenges, as a kind of personal film-school. So 36-hour documentary challenges, 48-hour challenges, etc. Next up is the 48 Hour Film Project, which is one of those where you're given criteria (genre, line of dialogue, prop and character) and have to write, shoot, edit and submit it in 48 hours flat. It's terrifying but exhilarating and just getting finished is an achievement. I'm still learning, but it's exciting seeing my stuff get better as I go.

If you make films, what do you use? I've been building up a little micro-budget pack of stuff - about £250 so far, with the plan to improve each bit of it as I go. 

Filming:
I mainly film on my phone, unless I'm collaborating with someone who has better equipment. Even then, outside of depth-of-field, the phones are surprisingly good. I use the Filmic Pro app, which gives you more options with frame-rate, ISO, etc while shooting than you have otherwise (on Samsung at least). A gimbal is my most expensive buy so far - £130, but makes for much smoother moving shots. One shot I had in an earlier film would have been lovely if it weren't for very minor shaking. It wasn't too noticeable at laptop/phone size, but blown up on a screen, it felt super-obvious.

Sound:
I bought this cheap-as-chips shotgun mic for less than £20. It's far from pro, but is so much better than not using one at all. Clip-mics for documentaries are surprisingly good too - under a tenner and we got asked how our sound was so good. The shotgun mic can be screwed onto a £10 monopod, and you've got a usable boom-mic. Little bit rattly where the connection is, but I've learned to work around that.

Lights: