WHAT DO YOU!?

Kata Ha Jime

So, having FINALLY got a job after three ish years, I wondered if I could find out what your jobs are like, how you got into them, your routines, or stuff you do at work.

Now I'm not a talkative person so meeting new people is awkward but it has been ok so far as the people I have met are freindly so it's a bit easier. I'm still tuning my body to get up early and sitting in a chair for a while does start to hurt, so I walk around a bit. Enjoying it so far though.

So, if you wish to tell, what be your job thing?

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I work as an Offshore Chef. Got into by working in various hotel/restaurants etc for years..Got speaking to a pal who had a mate offshore and was told i could earn DOUBLE what i was getting for the same work. Looked into it and sure enough you could. 5 and half years later and im still at it. Good time off, just unfortunate that with rota's that you sometimes miss occasions, like birthdays, Xmas etc....but its still good money if you can get into it!

• Paid Members

I'm a games designer. I work for a company just outside Cambridge that makes educational games for kids. I mainly work on our key product Footee, a football based site targeted at kids between 7-14. We've just reached an agreement with the Premier League to make club specific versions of the site and have gone live with 3 trial clubs from the Football League (Crystal Palace, Huddersfield Town and Wycombe Wanderers). Aiming to get the first Premier League versions live in the next month or so.

• Paid Members

I'm a buyer for the UK's biggest pharmaceutical distributor, our company also owns 'Lloyds the chemist'. I've only been doing it a year, prior to this I was a purchasing manager for a mobile phone company.

I also promote stand-up comedy with a mate of mine (link in sig) which is much more fun & far more rewarding than staring at spreadsheets & arguing with suppliers all day.

• Paid Members