From Software Games

Onyx2

• Awards Moderator

There's enough chatter from @Mr_Danger and @Merzbow in WHAT PLAY YOU so I wanted to talk about them all here.

I only started playing them in September, more detail here:

and since then I've finished Dark Souls 2 which wasn't as satisfying and frankly outstayed it's welcome. Still great but it pales next to DS1.

And now I'm, I dunno a third of the way through DS3? I'm a relative newbie to the series so I'll spoiler my thoughts.

Spoiler

I was so happy to see somewhere called Firelink Shrine again. And they seemed to have made it a PROPER hub with a smith (Andre!), a shop, etc.

It's goddamn gorgeous. The character detail, the environments, the draw distance. Wonderful.  (I suspect because this was made for PS4 rather than being remakes of last gen).

It's fast and fluid, combat is nippy and enemies attack very fast.

The first castle.... ehhh. It's a bit too mazey for a first area. I was constantly getting lost in the identikit rooms and the fact there are at least two battlement areas that are mirrored (I think they are opposite battlements) with a bonfire is odd. A bit unnecessary.

I don't need yet another death mechanic... why reinvent it again?! I mean it's the same as DS1 but with completely different names.

I think I've gone form ambivalence to one of my favourite series of all time very quickly.

Any thoughts on Demon Souls, Dark Souls, Sekiro, Bloodborne? Favourite videos? I enjoy IllusoryWall's many technical breakdowns and ymfah's odd challenges.

• Paid Members

I've played them all except Demon Souls (and a bunch fo inspired-by's like Lords of the Fallen, Surge 1 & 2, Nioh etc) and Bloodborne is far and away my favourite, and the one where it really clicked for me how to have fun with the games.