Language oddities

Arthur B. Funky

Without being all hoity-toity, the English language is peculiar.Ā  I think we can all agree. :)

What are the language oddities that make you smile, wind you up, generally confound or confuse people?

Niche (French of course) to nitch (American pronounciation); it's nicheĀ Americans, learn it!

• Paid Members

Not being a snidey wanker about it like a previous poster, as an English language teacher I feel this all the time. Phrasal verbs are the worst for this - so often students will be compelled to get right down to the nitty-gritty and establish WHY something happens (which is annoying because in English, most of the time there is no real set reason). It's led me to tell my adult students straight up when they ask me "Why is X like like this..." "Because English is a shit". NotĀ  many of us really appreciate how fortunate we are to have English as our mother tongue. It's a constantly confusing language.

Languages are absolutely fascinating though. The fact that the same very similar word can exist across an entire continent for the same object never fails to blow my brain.Ā 

8 hours ago, SpiritOfTheForest said:

Not being a snidey wanker about it like a previous poster, as an English language teacher I feel this all the time. Phrasal verbs are the worst for this - so often students will be compelled to get right down to the nitty-gritty and establish WHY something happens (which is annoying because in English, most of the time there is no real set reason). It's led me to tell my adult students straight up when they ask me "Why is X like like this..." "Because English is a shit". NotĀ  many of us really appreciate how fortunate we are to have English as our mother tongue. It's a constantly confusing language.

Languages are absolutely fascinating though. The fact that the same very similar word can exist across an entire continent for the same object never fails to blow my brain.Ā