The Ultimate Wrestlemania

Killjoy_Gee

Listening to the Wrestlemania 19 recap on Something to Wrestle and Bruce was discussing how Shawn/Jericho would go down as  one of the best ‘Mania matches of all time and it got me thinking about what matches from Mania history would you ‘book’ if putting together the ‘Ultimate Wrestlemania’

Rules are simple, no Superstar or Title can be used twice - sorry HBK fans - and you must have a 10 match card with a clear main event! Otherwise, matches are in no particular order - unless you are truly OCD

Special challenge - as I’m a teacher I must offer an extension to challenge my most able, and I’ll be damned if I don’t do it on here! - do not use more than one match from a Wrestlemania!! 

1. Bret Hart vs Stone Cold w/ Ken Shamrock as Special Referee (Wrestlemania 13 - I Quit Match)

How can you not have one of the most iconic and career defining matches? This match is; in my honest opinion, the true genesis of what would go on to be the Attitude Era. I feel without this match, Austin may not have picked up momentum the way he did.

2. The Rock vs Hollywood Hulk Hogan (Wrestlemania 18)

Clash of the Titans. A match that was far better than you would have ever expected considering the reputation Hogan had coming out of WCW. They have the crowd captivated. This should have been the main event of the night and it was.... electrifying 

3. The Dudley Boys w/ Spike Dudley vs Edge and Christian w/ Rhyno vs The Hardyz w/ Lita (Wrestlemania 17 - TLC II; Tag Team Championship)

Me being very selfish here, but genuinely one of my most favourite matches ever and the perfect conclusion to this trios trilogy of matches. I love that it has all of their ‘thirds’, it has some of the most played Wrestlemania moments. 

4. The Undertaker vs Triple H (Wrestlemania 27)