how did you become a fan of wrestling

wwffan2

• Paid Members

Wrestling has just always been there. One of my earliest memories is sitting with my dad eating cheese on toast watching WOS on a rainy saturday afternoon. due to him either working like a madman or being asleep due to him working like a madman, Saturday afternoons were our time, and Wrestling was a big part of it. As I got older, went to a few local shows an grew to love it live too.

Became a fan of the American product about 1988 when I started trading tapes with a guy in the US (Corrie was an expensive commodity those days!), and started getting WWF and NWA stuff, which led me to tracking down WCCW, Stampede, and Japanese stuff. Eventually got Sky, and my fix became regular. Spent most of the early 90's trying to find it on the foreign channels and feeling that I had struck gold when I found some.

I saw the Giant kill 2 Japanese jobbers on an episode of Nitro. I was waiting for TNT to finish on a friday night so Dexter's Laboratory could come back on.

The next day, my Incredible Hulk action figure was renamed The Giant and all my toys were made to join a Wrestling League. Lord Zedd was the lead heel naturally.

Saw a leaflet for the figures when I was about 4, got Hogan and Andre's figures about a week later, started getting the PPV's taped off Sky by my brothers mate, got Sky in '94 and got dead into watching WWF Mania, went off it in '96, got back in when Kane turned up, few years later I was opening the PS one disc tray on Trish's loading screen on Smackdown 2 for obvious reasons, then 12 or so years later wwffan2 started this thread

• Awards Moderator

I think it was the merchandise that did it for me.