Camera recommendations?

John Matrix

• Paid Members

All,

Since im no longer involved with sports, i'm interested in trying my hand at photography to keep busy and am looking at cheap and cheerful cameras to get started with without blowing a fortune on something i may have no natural aptitude for.

Unfortunately, as a complete novice, the technology and terminology is completely foreign to me. My only knowledge of cameras is that 8mp on a phone is pretty good.

I like working in photoshop with images, so looking for something where preferably the noise of the image is kept to a minimum when working at size, but apart from that, the biggest stumbling block to getting started is not even knowing what it is i'm looking for.

Can anyone recommend a camera in the

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply
All,

Since im no longer involved with sports, i'm interested in trying my hand at photography to keep busy and am looking at cheap and cheerful cameras to get started with without blowing a fortune on something i may have no natural aptitude for.

Unfortunately, as a complete novice, the technology and terminology is completely foreign to me. My only knowledge of cameras is that 8mp on a phone is pretty good.

I like working in photoshop with images, so looking for something where preferably the noise of the image is kept to a minimum when working at size, but apart from that, the biggest stumbling block to getting started is not even knowing what it is i'm looking for.

Can anyone recommend a camera in the

• Paid Members

Christmas is coming, so now is the time for SLR bargains as the people with more money than sense dump the last generation so that they can buy the newer models.

The Nikon D40/D40x/D60 generation of cameras have dropped massively in value this year and can often be picked up for under

I always shoot canon. I started with digital (400D) so pretty basic, and upgraded recently to a 450D. I have a tight budget but the change was worth it.