Commuting

Bydo

I was wondering how many of us have a big fuck-off commute to work in the morning. I work as a Teacher in Dundee and have been living in a flat there for a couple of years now, but I'm a Glasgow native and my Mrs. also stays there because of work, so I find myself back home most weekends for her and to see the folks, as well as mates, wrestling buddies, and the like.

I'm starting a weeks trial to commute- but to get into work by 8:45, I need to leave Glasgow at about 6:30 by bus (I can drive, but literally can't afford to at the moment), and would get back in at 7pm. The bus would give me time to do tedious tasks such as marking and stuff, but I've a feeling that I'll be bloody knackered. On the plus side, if it goes well, i would move in with my Mrs, ridding me of my horribly expensive flat and all it's add-ons.

Anyway, over to you- anyone in a similar position? How do you cope?

• Paid Members

Before I got with my Girlfriend, for years my daily commute was 55 miles round trip. Usually taking between 1 hour - 1 1/2 hour hours each way depending on traffic. These days I live about 4 miles from where I work so it's like a different world.

Doing a full days work is bad enough, never mind having upto 3 hours travelling on top of that.

08:45 is pretty late in for a teacher. If there's a big traffic jam or the bus fails you're well fucked surely?

You're probably better off trying to sleep on the bus back. Get some hypnosis mp3s or shit like that.

Sounds a little barmy, if you're trying to fix yourself up with a Glasgow teaching job for next year then maybe you can make it work until then. Doubt you would hack it much later than that unless very well organised. If it's long-term, might be better trading down your Dundee flat for a small room.

Good luck!

08:45 is pretty late in for a teacher. If there's a big traffic jam or the bus fails you're well fucked surely?

Good luck!