Management Companies and your experiences with them...

The Miz

So we have been in our Flat now little over a year, and with Flat ownership comes a Ground Rent and ofcourse Leasehold.

Now we paid a sum up to the end of the last year in bulk before we moved in, and the management company sent a letter saying they would contact us soon to meet in person and to lay out exactly what they will do for us. 2011 came and we ddin't hear from them.

Until now.

They wrote to our old address a few days ago, which was weird. Thankfully we got the letter today from a Friend and basically they want the previous four months in bulk, and then the monthly payments every month from then on.

Sure we can afford to pay them this lump sum, but is this the norm at the start of a financial year? I ask this as I am new to this.

Then there is the issue of what the management company are doing. As it is a new build, the company that build the property are still on site and doing all of the maintanence still.

Educate a newbie. Cheers.

• Paid Members

This isn't the norm, usually you should receive a budget around early December, in time for the new service charge year (assuming the service charge period is Jan-Dec, which I am assuming it is from reading the above). The budget would normally be accompanied by the invoice (service charge demand), along with a copy of a 'section 153 notice'- which is a summary of rights and obligations. This demand sometimes might be sent separately to the budget, depending on the said managing agents' procedure. Sending this early Dec will give you plenty of time to arrange payment in time for the due date- 1st Jan.