Jump to content

New Star Sign Introduced


Recommended Posts

New Star Signs - The Sun



NASA has made big changes to star signs, with horoscopes changing after the discovery of a brand-new zodiac sign.

That means the traditional signs and dates are changing in a big way - and you could find yourself something new entirely.

NASA has created a whole new sign — Ophiuchus, the snake bearer, for people born between November 29 and December 17.

In astrology, astrological signs are the twelve 30° sectors of the ecliptic, starting at the vernal equinox, also known as the First Point of Aries.

The order of the astrological signs is Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

But the night sky has moved since the 12 signs of the zodiac were first invented more than 2,500 years ago, according to The Sun

“The line from Earth through the sun points to Virgo for 45 days, but it points to Scorpius for only seven days,” a Nasa spokesman explained.

“To make a tidy match with their 12-month calendar, the Babylonians ignored the fact the sun actually moves through 13 constellations, not 12.

"Then they assigned each of those constellations equal amounts of time.

"Besides the 12 familiar constellations of the zodiac, the sun is also aligned with Ophiuchus for about 18 days each year.”

Pauline Gerosa, the consultant astrologer behind Astrology Oracle, told Stylist: “Ophiuchus has always been one of the constellations that fall along the ecliptic. It just wasn’t selected by the ancient astrologers to be one of the 12 zodiac signs."

“It’s important to remember that astrology is NOT astronomy,” she added.

“Astronomy is a scientific concept based on 3D material reality. Astrology is a symbolic language, a philosophy, a multidimensional concept. They used to be seen as two sides of the same coin and hopefully they will be again.”

The BBC reports Ophiuchus may have been ignored because ancient astrologists wanted to chart the path in a mathematically pleasing way of 12 equal parts, each one of 30 degrees.

The new dates are as follows:

Capricorn: January 20 to February 15

Aquarius: February 16 to March 11

Pisces: March 12 to April 18

Aries: April 19 to May 13

Taurus: May 14 to June 21st

Gemini: June 22 to July 20

Cancer: July 21 to August 10

Leo: August 11 to September 16

Virgo: September 17 to October 30

Libra: October 31 to November 23

Scorpio: November 24 to November 29

Ophiuchus: November 30 to December 17

Sagittarius: December 18 to January 20


Has your star sign now changed?



Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
19 minutes ago, Carbomb said:

Telegraph and Express are as bad as, if not worse than, The S*n. 

Yeah as much as I hat The Scum it’s much a muchness of shitehawks. Just link to whatever Brian Cox has said about it or something.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Paid Members

Yeah, newspapers conflating astronomy with Astrology to try and bait a few clicks. It'll get forgotten about when the class action suit is brought against astrologers by people who've been living their lives based on the wrong horoscope. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Paid Members
9 minutes ago, stumobir said:

I know, right. What would a Shakespearean actor know about astrology? 

Perhaps more than you think

A pair of star-crossed lovers take their life, whose misadventured piteous overthows doth with their death bury their parents' strife

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...