UK HOTELS

I like root beer

I have come to the realisation that as far as staying at hotels in England I'm not that experienced. I mean I have obviously stayed in a few over the years, however its rare.The last time I stayed in a hotel was in Iceland last year as a bundle so it was going off the reputation of the travel agent. If ever I'm out and about in a different city (being from West Yorkshire) I can most usually drive home after an event ( I don't drink), but I have purchased a weekend pass for the For the love of wrestling convention in Liverpool next April and wanted to know a few thing I can't seem to find online being a novice at staying at hotels. From reading different bits of UKFF it seems some on here regular travel up and down the country so wanted to ask a few questions.

i know the budget brands are Premier inn, ibis and others but what are solid mid range/ upper hotels I've been recommended Hilton however some relatives have said its not as good as it once was. 

When staying over after a Wrestling event or concert or wedding or whatever what chain do you usually go for? What chain to avoid?

And whats a good average rate you'd expect to pay for a hotel in the city centre (I have checked this however booking.con comes up with different averages daily £70 on average yesterday in Liverpool to £180 today which I found bizarre)

Thanks

• Awards Moderator

Nothing wrong with a Premier Inn. Nice bathrooms and really comfy beds. 

Slightly higher-end chains are probably Q Hotels (we’ve stayed with them in Warwickshire and Cheltenham and they’re fine - usually they have a pool which is nice) or Macdonald which will be pricier but probably fancier as well.

• Moderators