Weather Warnings

The Invisible Boy

Okay so I'm sure everyone has heard about these weather warnings concerning the next few days. Storms, strong winds, heavy rain and what not.

How worried should we be though?

Just wondering as I'm a baker and I have a 5am start on Monday morning and I can't drive, buses aren't around early enough to get me to work so I usually cycle in, it's normally about a half an hour/45 minute cycle but I usually leave at 3:30am as it gives me a bit of time so that I'm not rushing and gives me time to change and stuff when I get there, get the ovens switched on and so on.

Right so I'm just wondering as there's been a yellow alert of wind and the rain is supposed to be very heavy in the area I cycle through. I'm definitely alright with it, slightly excited to be honest but at the same time one or two people have warned me and I don't really fancy being one of those people who you hear about on the news who's been killed by a piece of a roof or tree falling on them. I do always wear a helmet and a high visibility top too.

So do you reckon I'll be alright cycling in?

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Paid Members

Storm is supposed to hit the bottom of England. Swaying in from the west. It might not even hit us at all and hit the Frenchies. If it does hit us, I'd batten down the hatches down London way.

I'd probably lock up the bicycle now until about March, especially if you're going out in the mornings. Too dodgy now.

Storm is supposed to hit the bottom of England. Swaying in from the west. It might not even hit us at all and hit the Frenchies. If it does hit us, I'd batten down the hatches down London way.

According to Absolute Radio news reports this morning, the storm will first attack the South West of England late on tonight / early tomorrow morning and then make it