Whitney Houston Dead

Frankie Crisp

• Awards Moderator

She's dead, it would seem.

Whitney Houston, who reigned as pop music's queen until her majestic voice and regal image were ravaged by drug use, erratic behavior and a tumultuous marriage to singer Bobby Brown, has died. She was 48.

Link

Erm, I'm new to all this starting a death thread stuff, apart from that bird from the Golden Girls, so I feel I should put something relevant here. Here's

Oh, here you go, some BBC stuff:

American singer and actress Whitney Houston has died at the age of 48.

The cause and the location of her death were unclear, her publicist Kristen Foster told the AP news agency. A family spokesman confirmed the news.

Regarded as one of the most celebrated female acts of all time, Houston also enjoyed success acting in films such as The Bodyguard and Waiting to Exhale.

But her later career was overshadowed by drug use and her turbulent marriage to singer Bobby Brown.

The peak of her success came with a string of hits in the 80s and early 90s.

Edit: if anyone makes the 'waiting to exhale' joke, I reckon they should get a banning.

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

she's was going to (probably still is) be in the remake of sparkle. coming out round october. lot of people saying it could have started a career resurgence for her. i can see the film doing big business especially now. its very sad she wont be here to see it

• Awards Moderator

So, Whitney Houston then? Can't say I was a huge fan, although my very first record was

, mainly because my Grandad bought it for my sister and Billy Oceans' Get Out Of My Dreams for me, but gave us the wrong presents.